» Managing Access to Workspaces
Note: Team management is a paid feature, available as part of the Team upgrade package. Learn more about Terraform Cloud pricing here.
Terraform Cloud workspaces can only be accessed by users with the correct permissions. You can manage permissions for a workspace on a per-team basis.
Teams with admin access on a workspace can manage permissions for other teams on that workspace. Since newly created workspaces don't have any team permissions configured, the initial setup of a workspace's permissions requires the owners team or a team with permission to manage workspaces. (More about permissions.)
Terraform Cloud manages users' permissions to workspaces with teams.
- Workspace-level permissions can be granted to an individual team on a particular workspace. These permissions can be managed on the workspace by anyone with admin access to the workspace.
- In addition, some organization-level permissions can be granted to a team which apply to every workspace in the organization. For example, the manage workspaces grants the workspace-level admin permission to every workspace in the organization. Organization-level permissions can only be managed by organization owners.
For more information see:
» Managing Workspace Access Permissions
When a workspace is created, only the owners team and teams with the "manage workspaces" permission can access it, with full admin permissions. These teams' access can't be removed from a workspace.
To manage other teams' access, select "Team Access" from a workspace's "Settings" menu.
This screen displays all teams granted workspace-level permissions to the workspace. To add a team, select "Add team and permissions".
A list of teams which can be added to the workspace is shown. Select a team to continue and select the team's permissions:
Four fixed permissions sets (read, plan, write, and admin) are available for basic usage.
To enable finer-grained selection of non-admin permissions, select "Customize permissions for this team":
On this screen, you may pick and choose individual permissions to grant the team for the workspace.
For more information on permissions, see the documentation on Workspace Permissions.