» Yum/DNF Packages for RHEL, CentOS, and Fedora

The primary distribution packages for Terraform are .zip archives containing single executable files that you can extract anywhere on your system. However, for easier integration with configuration management tools and other systematic system configuration strategies, we also offer package repositories for RedHat Enterprise Linux, Fedora, and Amazon Linux systems, which allow you to install Terraform using the yum install or dnf install commands.

If you are instead using Debian or Ubuntu, you might prefer to install Terraform from our APT repositories.

» Repository Configuration

Before adding a repository you must determine which distribution you are using. The following command lines refer to a placeholder variable $release which you must replace with the appropriate value from the following list:

  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux: RHEL
  • Fedora: fedora
  • Amazon Linux: AmazonLinux

If you are using a Yum-based distribution, add the repository using yum-config-manager as follows:

sudo yum install -y yum-utils
sudo yum-config-manager --add-repo https://rpm.releases.hashicorp.com/$release/hashicorp.repo

If you are using a DNF-based distribution, add the repository using dnf config-manager as follows:

sudo dnf install -y dnf-plugins-core
sudo dnf config-manager --add-repo https://rpm.releases.hashicorp.com/$release/hashicorp.repo

In both cases, the Terraform package name is terraform. For example:

yum install terraform

» Supported Architectures

The HashiCorp Yum/DNF server currently has packages only for the x86_64 architecture, which is also sometimes known as amd64.

There are no official packages available for other architectures, such as aarch64. If you wish to use Terraform on a non-x86_64 system, download a normal release .zip file instead.

» Supported Distribution Releases

The HashiCorp Yum server currently contains release repositories for the following distribution releases:

  • AmazonLinux 2
  • Fedora 29
  • Fedora 30
  • Fedora 31
  • Fedora 32
  • Fedora 33
  • RHEL 7 (and CentOS 7)
  • RHEL 8 (and CentOS 8)

No repositories are available for other versions of these distributions or for any other RPM-based Linux distributions. If you add the repository using the above commands on other systems then you will see a 404 Not Found error.

Over time we will change the set of supported distributions, including both adding support for new releases and ceasing to publish new Terraform versions under older releases.

» Choosing Terraform Versions

The HashiCorp Yum repositories contain multiple versions of Terraform, but because the packages are all named terraform it is impossible to install more than one version at a time, and yum install or dnf install will default to selecting the latest version.

It's often necessary to match your Terraform version with what a particular configuration is currently expecting. You can use the following command to see which versions are currently available in the repository index:

yum --showduplicate list terraform

You can select a specific version to install by including it in the yum install command line, as follows:

yum install terraform-0.14.0-2.x86_64

If you are using a DNF-based distribution, similar use dnf instead of yum when following the above steps.

If your workflow requires using multiple versions of Terraform at the same time, for example when working through a gradual upgrade where not all of your configurations are upgraded yet, we recommend that you use the official release .zip files instead of the Yum packages, so you can install multiple versions at once and then select which to use for each command you run.